Back to All Events

The Schumacher / Sanford Sound Assembly

The Schumacher/Sanford Sound Assembly is a 17-piece collective of New York's finest players featuring the original compositions of David Schumacher and JC Sanford. Disciples of Bob Brookmeyer, Schumacher and Sanford strive for organic structures, extended forms, and motivic development through a colorful palette of orchestration. They intertwine improvised and composed elements in their work to create a natural, seamless evolution of material. It is a combination full of excitement and intrigue that will fulfill the most critical and demanding jazz audience.

Sound Assembly members, including drummer John Hollenbeck (Bob Brookmeyer, Jim McNeely), trumpeter John Bailey (Ray Barretto, Chico O'Farrill), trombonist Mark Patterson (Dave Matthews, Maria Schneider), and reedmen Chris Bacas (Buddy Rich, Artie Shaw), Ben Kono (Freddie Hubbard, Michael Brecker), and John O'Gallagher (Joe Henderson, Kenny Wheeler) bring a vast range of experience to the group. The talents of these members showcase the unmistakable sound, style, and nuance of co-leaders Schumacher and Sanford.

To read more about the Assembly, check out their web site at

The exact date of this concert is not known, but it occurred in the marked year around this time.

Earlier Event: December 12
Ismael Garcia